Potatoes Burning Bottom of Pot - Induction

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Buzzbromp

Assistant Cook
I am new to induction and I keep burning potatoes at the bottom of the pot. With gas, just boil the water, throw the potatoes in and let it go no problem. With induction, the potatoes seem to stay at the bottom and form a burnt layer. I am wondering if gas focuses the heat on the bottom more causing the boiling water to roll more and push the potatoes around? Induction, they just seem to stay at the bottom. Boiling potatoes in a pot should be pretty simple, so I wonder what the heck I'm doing wrong! I've read about having thicker steel for induction. I'm not sure the thickness of the stainless steel pot I'm using, but it seems pretty decent in quality. Its a paderno 5 qt sauce pot.

Note that I use a powerboost function to get the water boiling quickly, then turn off this function when putting the potatoes in. I then keep it at high (1-9, using 9) to keep it boiling. Similarly with gas, I would keep the gas cranked up unless I need to reduce to prevent boil over.

I don’t use induction but I do use these old fashioned cast aluminum trivets in the bottom of my Revere pots when I’m concerned about scorching.

1705956323509.jpeg

Any similar round cooling rack or trivet should prevent the potatoes from touching the bottom of the pot.

buzz, try starting you potatoes off inside the cold water. Root vegies are started in cold water and brought up to a boil, above ground vegies (green beans, etc) you boil the water first and then toss in the vegies.

Also once boiling turn down the heat to a low/medium boil. I've burnt many things on the devil's induction burner. Give me gas any day, but that being said I have no choice at the moment - devil's induction it is.