What does "double-smoked" mean to you?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wan

Cook
Hello. I recently saw ham being described as "double-smoked". I didn't know what that meant so I came home and googled. Apparently, this term, when applied to bacon, means that the bacon is cured in dry herbs and its own natural juice as opposed to the usual way, which is being injected with brine, which hastens the process but also introduces too much liquid into the meat.

However, I looked further and realized that this term actually means something very different when applied to ham. I believe it means that the meat is smoked not once, but twice, hence the "double".

Am I far from the mark? What is your understanding? thanks.

I have no actual knowledge on the matter (this being the internet has stopped no one), but I would guess that it might have been brined or injected with a solution that included liquid smoke, and then actually spent time in a smoker.

I'd be interested to see if I'm wrong. Double smoking sounds like extra effort, or it could be a sales pitch.

Hello. I recently saw ham being described as "double-smoked". I didn't know what that meant so I came home and googled. Apparently, this term, when applied to bacon, means that the bacon is cured in dry herbs and its own natural juice as opposed to the usual way, which is being injected with brine, which hastens the process but also introduces too much liquid into the meat.

However, I looked further and realized that this term actually means something very different when applied to ham. I believe it means that the meat is smoked not once, but twice, hence the "double".

Am I far from the mark? What is your understanding? thanks.