The Caveman Grill!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rob Babcock

Head Chef
When I got back from camping/backpacking trip to ID this was waiting for me!
yH5BAEAAAAALAAAAAABAAEAAAIBRAA7
It's an infrared top broiler called the Caveman Grill. It has a pretty small cooking area, only about 65 square inches, about enough for a steak of almost any size or a couple of burgers. The real draw is that it runs at 1,500 degrees F.
yH5BAEAAAAALAAAAAABAAEAAAIBRAA7
As a chef I'm used to cooking on steakhouse-type top broilers that can reach nearly 1,800 F which gives results you can't really duplicate at home. A conventional gas or charcoal grill is lucky to get up to 800 degrees F. To really get that crusty sear like a good steakhouse gives you requires extremely high heat, higher than most grills can deliver.
32.gif

The bottom doesn't really get hot but I set the CM up on a rolling rack with a pair of brick pavers underneath just to be safe. The brick also gives me a place to set the screaming hot grill tray when it comes out. I've only cooked on it twice but so far I'm over the moon!
dblthumb2.gif
42.gif

htPSElT.jpg

It takes a regular LP tank but I expect an adapter could be had to run it off a green disposable bottle. It's small enough to take car/truck camping. For $125 shipped it's an amazing deal! And those of you in the Midwest can pop down to your local Menard's and get one in the store!

Last edited:
That thing is just amazing Rob, and you can be sure I'd have one if I had the room.

I've been doing a lot of Sous Vide cooking and I love my 12,500 BTU searing side burner on my gas grill. It's so dang fun cooking with fire flare-ups and I've nicknamed it Wilma (Flintstone).

It's nice to see you again by the way.

I expected to see a bed of coals with the meat cooking directly on them.:LOL: