Sous Vide Cowboy Ribeye

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JohnR33

Assistant Cook
Hello all, I'm new to this forum and new to Sous Vide, and after some experiments and disappointments, I'm looking for advice an tips to improve my cooking results.

I recently prepared a 2" thick, bone-in, Grass-fed, Angus in a sous vide set for 132° and 2 hours cooking time. I got these recommended settings from an online video. After I removed the Ribeye, I seasoned and browned the steak in a hot cast iron skillet with Avacado oil, 1 minute per side. When I cut it open, the meat was nearly raw next to the bone, and the rest of the meat was rare. Obviously, I needed more heat and more time, does anyone have any pointers?

Also, the steak was missing that unique grilled flavor. Is it better to sear the meat before going into the sous vide?

JohnR33

Welcome to the forum!

I'm new to the sous vide, so I can't tell you a lot, except that 132º should have gotten it past that "nearly raw" state. 130º is normally thought of as med-rare. Did you check your water with a digital thermometer, to make sure that the 132º was accurate?

Welcome to the forum!

I'm new to the sous vide, so I can't tell you a lot, except that 132º should have gotten it past that "nearly raw" state. 130º is normally thought of as med-rare. Did you check your water with a digital thermometer, to make sure that the 132º was accurate?
Thanks, that's a helpful idea. I used a Weston Sous vide machine and the controls are very difficult to use. I should have checked the temp. I returned the Weston and ordered an Anova machine.