Pot Roast Seasoning

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nrsmd

Assistant Cook
I am somewhat new to cooking. I am making this weekend a Pot Roast in a slow cooker. I have all the herbs and spices and am ready to go forward. I see lots of advice for various seasonings.

My question is this: If I prepare a Rub (using herbs and spices), and apply it to all sides of the pot roast as per directions (apply 2 T on each side then sear), do I also add in additional spices and herbs to the crock pot itself (onions, garlic)?

Thanking you in advance

Definitely add onions, and depending on your personal tastes, some garlic. Pot roast is such a wonderful wintertime dish, and should be tasty, not bland.
You didn't mention the herbs and spices you are using in the rub. Could you let us know what you are using, and perhaps we can make suggestions about adding additional seasonings.

Definitely add onions, and depending on your personal tastes, some garlic. Pot roast is such a wonderful wintertime dish, and should be tasty, not bland.
You didn't mention the herbs and spices you are using in the rub. Could you let us know what you are using, and perhaps we can make suggestions about adding additional seasonings.
Thank you for the advice. My wife does not like it hot (chili), so I was planning on after onion and garlic salt:

Thyme, Rosemary, Oregano, Worstecher suace, and top off with bay leaves.

If you have reference to an especially good slow cooker recipe that would be welcomed.

Thank you. I actually have all the ingredients. The Caribean roast will be humming tomorrow morning. It's the only pot roast that lists sweet potatoes, much healthier.

Pappardelle With Slow-Cooker Beef Ragu

1 15 oz. can crushed tomatoes
1/4 cup dry red wine
1 TB. tomato paste
3 cloves garlic, sliced
Kosher salt
1 sprig rosemary
1 3" piece parmesan rind, plus shredded parmesan for topping