Not a pizza, pizza bread!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JustJoel

Executive Chef
I made a “pizza bread” for a friend. I didn’t get a chance to taste it for myself, but the aroma was nourishing all by itself. An Italian seven cheese blend, good pepperoni, dried onions, oregano, garlic salt rounded out the taste (I assume). It was missing one thing. Tomatoes. I thought about adding sun-dried tomatoes, but I want a tomato taste that’s more pervasive. If I add a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste to the dough, will it change the ratios? Less liquid? Less sugar?

I think it’s become very clear that I’m a newbie at bread making!

I made a “pizza bread” for a friend. I didn’t get a chance to taste it for myself, but the aroma was nourishing all by itself. An Italian seven cheese blend, good pepperoni, dried onions, oregano, garlic salt rounded out the taste (I assume). It was missing one thing. Tomatoes. I thought about adding sun-dried tomatoes, but I want a tomato taste that’s more pervasive. If I add a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste to the dough, will it change the ratios? Less liquid? Less sugar?

I think it’s become very clear that I’m a newbie at bread making!

That sounds interesting. Did you post the recipe in the breads section? We would love to take a look at it and maybe try to make it ourselves.

Sounds like you made a focaccia.
It wasn’t really a focaccia, it was a soft loaf that I baked on the “soft” cycle. I was too lazy to make it in the dough cycle, then roll it out, form it, let it proof again, then finally bake it in the oven. I usually enjoy all of that, but it was just too much trouble the other day. And the bread was for our dog groomer, so I didn’t feel any “knead” to go the extra mile!

That sounds interesting. Did you post the recipe in the breads section? We would love to take a look at it and maybe try to make it ourselves.