Newbie Needs Cookie Decorating Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sandys_sweets

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone,

I'm very new to the cookie decorating world and I am tying to get my feet wet and decide if I want to start a cookie business. I'm trying to learn a few ticks before I dive in.

I have these cookie cutters that mark the details into the cookies (See attached picture) If I flood the cookie with royal icing I won't be able to see the details to pipe them.

Should I:

Pipe the details then flood the sections in the desired colors OR

Pipe the outline only, flood the cookie with desired colors then press the cookie cuter into the flooded cookie in order to pipe the details?

I'm very new to this and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Cookie.jpg
    Cookie.jpg
    5.1 KB · Views: 130
I haven't done detail; work with cookies, but have with molded chocolates. I would make milk/powdered sugar glazes of desired colors, using paste food coloring, and a fine-tip brush, or dental spatula to apply the colors. You will need multiple, food safe paint brushes, or a paper towel to clean the spatula between colors.

Detailing work, whether piping icing, or painting on glaze, is time intensive, not really great for mass production. It's easier, and faster to simply dust edible glitter, or colored sugar on top.

Another option would be to make a large, baked cookie, on a sheet pan, paint the inside of the cookie color with the appropriate glazes, and the use it to cut the cookies. I would think the colors would be pressed into the cookie details.

Seeeeya; Chief Longwind of the North

Last edited:
I agree with the Chief that the process you describe will be too cumbersome to use in a fast-paced high-volume environment needed to ensure a profit.