Need info on Cobb Grill

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gary b

Cook
hello,

I need any info about a small outdoor tabletop grill called the "Cobb grill", I'm thinking of buying. I am wanting to grill or maybe smoke small amounts of food for 2-3 people. I was considering the Cobb grill b/c the manufacturer advertises the grill will cook using very small amounts of charcoal. However, I have heard though, that this grill is hard to clean. This is a picture of the Cobb grill. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance. Gary

Gary, I have no experience with this grill but it looks like it would be hard to clean.

Hopefully, someone whos knows more will come along soon.

Have you looked at the Weber tabletop grills?

thanks andy,

I was also looking at the Weber Smokey Joe kettle grill like you suggested, but I don't know if it would use the small amount of charcoal the Cobb grill supposedly does. I would be taking this grill camping on occasion and the less charcoal I have to pack the better. The Cobb looks like it may be better insulated, and therefore use less charcoal than the Smokey Joe Weber kettle, when doing covered cooking/smoking of a chicken or small pork butt, though I'm not sure. Maybe someone also has some info about using the Weber Smokey Joe for covered grilling and how much charcoal it uses.

You can't compare the Cobb to a Smokey Joe

They are 2 different animals.
If you're looking for a cheap firebox that can grill steaks and burgers then get the Weber. The Cobb is a gourmet portable grill made completly from Stainless Steel and is not a cheap charcoal grill that will rust after 2 months.

The Cobb can not only Grill but it can also roast, smoke, fry, bake... you name it and the flavour is unbelievable. Chicken's come off this grill after about 90 minutes, peferctly done and the juiciest bird you've ever had.