Making ice cream - use raw egg yolks??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stoneisland

Assistant Cook
Newbie here :chef:
I bought an ice cream machine
Most recipes involve using raw egg yolk with absolutely no cooking!!
Is this OK? Does the sugar kill the germs or something??

Doesn't sound right to me.

Just wanted some thoughts.

Thanks.

If concerned

If the eggs are already contaminated with salmonella, freezing will not kill the bacteria.

If you have pasteurized eggs available use them.

Or find a recipe that actually uses a type of cooked custard. There are many out there.

Both Serious Eats and Chowline have articles on eggs and ice cream.

And Welcome to DC stoneisland!

Proper mayonnaise contains raw eggs.Mousse usually uses raw eggs. Ice cream is another. What´s the risk?
Raw eggs can be a source of salmonella, which is a form of food poisoning. According to (UK) government statistics, there are around 100 cases of salmonella each month. That´s less than 0.002% of the population. In the USA, instances are higher, with about 0.4% of the population being affected. However, you are twice as likely to be infected with campylobacter (from chicken, seafood and even vegetables) than salmonella.
It seems that most infections come from "free range" eggs, and authorities recommend using pasterurised eggs if they´re going to be used raw.
Additionally, not ALL eggs are infected; as you can see, it´s a very, very small percentage, but using pasteurised eggs is the way to go.