Intro.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Meathead

Assistant Cook
Hey all a bit about me.

Hobbies: Cooking, Food, Nutrition, fishing, camping, SCUBA, collecting, time with my dog and wife, economics and investing.

Career: Public Safety.

I am a good home cook with no formal training. I have learned through trial and error, lots of youtube. I have invested in a lot of cast iron entry level and pricy but love it all. Best things I ever learned were proper slicing and dicing, tasting each food product, and know my heat source and what it will and will not do.

Fun facts: I am teaching myself water color and color theory. I am a data freak.:ROFLMAO:

Thank you all.

Last edited:
Welcome to Discuss Cooking. You will find that a lot of the people here are big fans and users of cast iron.

Hi there Meathead! Welcome to DC.

I too am trying to teach myself Watercolours. LOL it's going to be a long haul as I'm having a hard time creating my Secondary colour (to my satisfaction) and a really hard time wrapping my head around tertiary colours!

and then there are the washes, :( but we'll get there ! :LOL:

and at the same time I'm playing with coloured pencils, but in the end, I will probably have the most luck with my acrylics... time will tell...

When I get frustrated I go back to reading recipes. :angel:

and I love my CI's too

Hi there Meathead! Welcome to DC.

I too am trying to teach myself Watercolours. LOL it's going to be a long haul as I'm having a hard time creating my Secondary colour (to my satisfaction) and a really hard time wrapping my head around tertiary colours!

and then there are the washes, :( but we'll get there ! :LOL:

and at the same time I'm playing with coloured pencils, but in the end, I will probably have the most luck with my acrylics... time will tell...

When I get frustrated I go back to reading recipes. :angel:

and I love my CI's too