I managed to mess-up a simple Instant Pot recipe. What am I doing wrong?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cyath

Assistant Cook
I'm not a newbie cook, been doing it for 20+ years. However, I am new to Instantpot, and this sub helped me with the pancake recipe that didn't turn out well.

I thought I would try again today with this. https://thesaltymarshmallow.com/instant-pot-spaghetti/ Unlike the pancake recipe it seemed simple and has a lot of good reviews below.

The only modifications I made were that I didn't brown the meat, I added it in directly.

I thought I was fire and forget, so I did just that until it started giving me an overheat warning. I added more water (I didn't add the correct amount earlier) Did it again. Added more water. Again. (added the right amount this time)

I then decided to just junk it, transferred the contents to a pot and cooked it over a stove. The meat was cooked through and so was the pasta, so I don't think I will get a stomachache (too late because I was hungry and ate it all) I saved some of the pasta, which I think is still edible.

I had to stop cooking because the constant beeping of the overheat wakes up my roommate, who is closer to the stove. I don't want to be an asshole. It was disappointing as I had to junk the rest of the...soup is what it became.

So using my brain and what I know of Instantpot, I think these are the possible problems :

1. I put the pasta directly on the bottom. Some of it was burnt when I looked inside.
  2. I needed to add more water initially.
  3. I should have browned the meat? (Doesn't seem like it)
I would really like to fully utilize my Instantpot, as I'm a busy student and I got it to save on time and money. But if it's not working properly, is it my fault? (I got it at a Salvation Army, it makes rice perfectly)

Thanks all for reading!

Welcome to the forum!