Boudin

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CraigC

Master Chef
Finally got around to making the boudin last Sunday. This is the first time we've made it, so I stuck with Emeril's recipe. I did sub poblano chilis for the green bell called for. I saved some bulk for Boudin balls and stuffed the rest into natural casings.

Here is some that I poached.

36788-albums1083-picture6903.jpg

Fresh stuffed.

36788-albums1083-picture6904.jpg

These I'll probably grill. There is room for experimenting with his recipe or trying another.

Recipe Please please please?

I've always wanted to try this sausage.

Everybody says around here," you can buy that at any Truck Stop!" but I have never seen it..

Eric, Austin Tx.

Everybody says around here," you can buy that at any Truck Stop!" but I have never seen it..

Eric, Austin Tx.

This is my first try at boudin. I'm not sure this is the recipe I'm going to call my "go to". Remember I made a sub with poblano chili for the green bell. I also think the heat level needs to increase. It was alright, but my expectations were higher. I haven't made the balls which seem to be the rage.

Here is the recipe I followed.

Boudin | Emerils.com

Eric, Austin Tx.

Actually, if you want to taste some boudin before you make it, WalMart and Kroger both sell Zummo's brand boudin, which comes from Baumont. It is a good brand.

You will probably be hard-pressed to find ready-to-eat boudin in any truck stop in Austin, but when I lived in Port Arthur, it was in every convenience store in town. It was like hot dogs at any other 7-Eleven in the country.

It's cheap, too. I think I pay $2.50 for Zummo's locally.

Good comfort food, too.

CD